​Voter Information

A Brief History on Voting Systems Used in Papua New Guinea


Since independence until the 2002 National Elections, Papua New Guineans have been electing their leaders to represent them in the National Parliament through the Simple Majority Voting also known as the “First-Past-the-Post voting system. The National Parliament amended the Organic Law on National and Local Level Government Elections to provide for the introduction of Limited Preferential Voting (“the LPV”) in National Elections. It must be clearly understood that the LPV would only be used in National Elections. The Local Level Government elections will continue to use the current “Simple Majority Voting” or “First-Past-the-Post voting system.

Read more: